The Winner of the OSU Press/The Journal Award in Poetry

The Ohio State University Press and The Journal are very pleased to announce the winner of the 2013 OSU Press/The Journal Award in Poetry and the Charles B. Wheeler prize, selected by judge Kathy Fagan. This year’s winner is Corey Van Landingham for her collection titled Antidote. Congratulations, Corey!

We received well over 500 poetry manuscripts for consideration this year, and it was an immense challenge to pick just one winner among so many wonderful submissions. We want to thank our dedicated group of readers, our judge, Kathy Fagan, and, of course, the poets who submitted their manuscripts for consideration.

Here’s a complete list of the honorees:

Winner: Corey Van Landingham for Antidote

First Runner-Up: Nancy Kathleen Pearson for Long Slow Distance

Finalists: Lisa Fay Coutley for Errata; Robert King for Some of These Days; Janine Joseph for Extended Stay; Christopher Salerno for ATM; and Michael Schmeltzer for Some Nights the Stars They Sour

Semi-Finalists: Danielle Chapman for Someone Else’s Eden; Aviva Englander Cristy for What She Never Owned; Raphael Dagold for Bastard Heart; John W. Evans for The Consolations; Brandi George for Bell a Body Rings; Michael Homolka for Sleep Sculptures; Maria Hummel for House and Fire; Josh Kalscheur for Tidal; Jennifer Browne Lawrence for The Goddess of Scales; Fritz Ward for Letters from the Handmade Dark; Elizabeth Whittlesey for How to Relume; Eliot Khalil Wilson for The Island of Dogs; and Jim Zukowski for Camp Happy

Congratulations again to our winner, runner-up, finalists, and semi-finalists.

Michael Larson was born and raised on a horse farm in the small town of Rainier, Washington. He earned his B.A. from Dartmouth College, before moving to Mutsu, Japan, where he lived and worked as a middle-school English teacher for two years. He is currently in the Creative Writing MFA Program at The Ohio State University, and serves as online editor for The Journal.