The OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Prize for Poetry

Submissions open September 1st for the annual OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Prize for Poetry. We’re moving everything online this year, so save yourself some shipping and send those puppies in through Submittable!

Each year, The Journal selects one full-length manuscript of poetry for publication by The Ohio State University Press. In addition to publication under a standard book contract, the winning author receives the Charles B. Wheeler prize of $2500.

Entries of at least 48 typed pages of original poetry must be electronically submitted during the month of September. Your name or other identification should appear only on a separate cover page. All manuscripts will be read anonymously.

Manuscripts must be previously unpublished. Some or all of the poems in the collection may have appeared in periodicals, chapbooks, or anthologies, but these must be identified in the acknowledgements page.

A nonrefundable handling fee of $28.00 will be charged for each entry. Entrants will receive a one-year subscription to The Journal.

The winning entry, screened by the editorial staff of The Journal and chosen by The Ohio State University Press’s Poetry Editor, Kathy Fagan, will be announced the following January.

Submit via Submittable starting September 1st:

Corey Van Landingham is our 2012 winner for her first collection, Antidote, out this fall. Corey recently completed her MFA at Purdue University and is now a Stegner Fellow at Stanford. Previous winners over the past twenty-seven years include: Rebecca Hazelton, Edward Haworth Hoeppner, Kary Wayson, Lia Purpura, Mark Svenvold, and Mary Ann Samyn.

Elizabeth Zaleski is the managing editor of The Journal and an MFA candidate in nonfiction at The Ohio State University.